Under Florida law, when a Tenant vacates the rental property, if the Landlord does not intend to
make a claim on the security deposit, the landlord has 15 days to return the full security deposit.
If the Landlord intends to make a claim on the security deposit, the Landlord has 30 days to give
the tenant written notice by certified mail to the tenant’s last known mailing address of the
landlord’s intention to make a claim on the deposit and the reason for making the claim.
Florida Statute 83.49 Security Deposit